TIPS LEARNING FRENCH?
  • Hi guys, I'm new to French. Any tips for a newbie. Thanks in advanced

last edited by Phoenix
  • Just a random tip: something that helped me a lot was learning about the IPA for pronunciation help.
    You don't have to learn the whole thing, just the symbols and sounds that make up french phonology. The following pages might be helpful:

Most dictionaries will give the pronounciation of words in the IPA, and I've
    found this invaluable for learning how different words are pronounced.
    Hope this helps! :)

• Lingvist graduate

Focus on pronounciation is a good thing, because I able to understand someone who speak french with a lot of grammar mistakes but it will be difficult if "un" [œ̃], "on" [ɔ̃],"an"[ɑ̃] or "u" [y], "ou" [u] sound the same.
    Some people are afraid by french grammar (especially conjugaison) but you don't need at all to know all the grammar to start speaking french.
    Some tenses (présent, futur simple, passé composé et imparfait), accord feminin/masculin and singular/plurial for adjective, some articles and you're ready to speak.
    Last but not least, listen "true" french on TV, radio... We don't speak french as we write it, sometimes we cut words or add little sound (liaison) between words. It is not complicate but it could be quite confusing at the beginning.

• admins

Hi there... we've got a list of tips coming up, so watch this space!

• Thanks guys, I found that R is extremely difficult to pronounce since it comes from the throat, not the mouth. I get a sore throat whenever I try to pronounce it. Any tip to pronounce it right ;P ?

• @thanhvannguyen944 there are some good videos on Youtube that help explain it, but otherwise it's just practice, practice, practice!

• Lingvist graduate

@thanhvannguyen944
    First, of course if you want to sound french it is better to have the french "r" but it is not a obligation. Any "r" from the back or from the front (like russian or spanish) will do the work.