Why are you learning Russian?
  • works@Lingvist

Hi there!

As an author of the Russian course I'm curious to know why are you learning Russian and whether or not you are using it on a daily basis?

We all have our stories, here's a lovely story of a 74 yo woman who started learning Russian aged 56, and says it has given her a whole new life http://rbth.com/arts/literature/2016/04/22/learning-russian-has-given-me-a-whole-new-life_587093

Looking forward to your stories!

• I voted for "just for fun" but that's not totally right. I'm very interested in the literature and by the way I'm a student of french literature and the russians have done great works in literature, in my opinion russian and persian literature are thousands times better than american or english literature. So I want to read russian literature in russan, that's the most important thing for me. And it's other benefits like one more language, learning a new culture, new people and the fact that it's very beneficial for getting a better job, these are the other reasons.

• works@Lingvist

Hi @pripyatbelediyebaskani

Thanks for your reply! Who are your favourite Russian writers?

It is hard to name one favourite writer or one favourite book, but I would say that Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky are my favourite authors.

If you need any book recommendations, let me know! :)

• Hello, Sabina!

I have a few different reasons. First is for fun because Russian is different from the languages I have been exposed to thus far. Second is for literature because Russian is one of the best languages for it (and because I would like to compare the translations that exist for these stories, which are so vastly different! But I know it would take me a long time to reach reading level, especially for classics). Third is that I know some Russian people and it would be fun to use it with them. I don't think I would be learning it without any of these components. I'm actually not the greatest at motivating myself.