What are milestones?
  • Perhaps not a bug, so forgive me for posting this there. But what are milestones? There's a line of text at the bottom of my screen (Android, learning Russian) saying X cards to next milestone or even THREE CARDS LEFT!, and then, presumably when I hit the milestone.. nothing. It just starts counting from fifty again. And I have not been able to find any record of these 'milestones'. I'm just curious, is all. :-)

last edited by Marina
  • I believe they're yet to implement this in full. But it's there for when they hand out little virtual awards, for example.

• works@Lingvist

Hi @oulenz, Thanks for your feedback. I’m a Product Designer here at Lingvist and I’m currently working on the next version of milestones.

I would be interested to know a couple of things, if you wouldn’t mind sharing -

1. How long you’ve been using the app?
    2. What you were expecting to happen once you hit the milestone?
    3. If you track your progress at all and, if so, how do you track it?

We’re constantly trying to improve our product and this sort of information is really valuable for us :)

last edited by andy
  • @andy

1. Downloaded it over a month ago, but only started using it this Saturday, now that Russian has been released
    2. I was expecting a message that I had hit the milestone. In particular because the intro had also mentioned how 50 cards/day is a good minimum. In addition, I was expecting the milestones to fit into some larger scheme that I would be shown in my profile. (I am coming from Duolingo, so that will have shaped my expectations, but I am actually very happy that with Lingvist, I'm not only getting cards from one topic at one given time but that learning is more fluent/continuous/dynamic.)
    3. The metric I am now looking at is the number of words displayed in my profile, it is very useful for me to know how high that metric can go (~5000)

last edited by oulenz
  • works@Lingvist