I’m new to Lingvist - where to start?
  • works@Lingvist

Our onboarding process for new learners is still in the making and we know that some of you would benefit from more instructions on how to get started.
    Our product team is working full steam on this task, so bear with us.
    working full steam
    Until they are ready, here is a brief guide on how to use Lingvist. Hopefully, it gives insight to questions that some of you might have.

• To start out, the app will show you a white card with some words in the language you have chosen to learn and a blank space. Type the word (in the language you are wanting to learn) into this blank space.

• If you don’t know the word (as mostly is the case when seeing a card for the first time), just hit Enter (or Reveal on mobile) and the answer will appear.

• If you are a lucky star and get it right on the first try, the word will turn green and the sentence will be read out loud (given you have the sound on your device turned on).

• Below the white card are translations in black that can help you in coming up with the correct target word.

• A translation of the entire phrase is shown on top of the card. Press the Up Arrow (on desktop) or pull the card down (on mobile) to see the translation. If you click on the pin, the translations will always be shown. Click the pin again, and they will disappear.

How to use Lingvist

In the progress section on the top right, you will find a Today, a History, and a Vocabulary tab. The today tab shows you how many new words you have learned today in orange, the words that you have repeated correctly are shown as a percentage in green, and finally in black the number of total cards you have completed.

Don’t be confused if your word list under the vocabulary section is still empty.

Word-list

Newly launched courses are still missing these handy lists. We are working on getting them to you soon.