New to german, learning difficult words
  • Hi, Im totally new to german and I was looking forward to English-Deutch course because french one was amazing. But I knew some french when I started and im improving it very much since lingvist, but with german its..aaagh, Im learning words like GOVERNMENT and 17 diffrent ways of saying ALREADY but i dont even know the first thing about german. Does it get better trough learning or will i be confused forever?

• Lingvist focuses primarily on enhancing your vocabulary. It teaches you words. So you should definitely supplement your learning with a textbook or a grammar book at least.

• Hi.

Try Duolingo, they have En-De course that teaches basics of German grammar. I didn't use anything but Duolingo and Memrise, and I feel pretty comfortable with the grammar in the course, even though I often google the meaning of words that I don't totally understand.

The course definitely lacks explanation of difficult words that have a lot of meanings, almost every way of saying Already is actually unique and can be used only in certain situations.

• The first step to learning any language is to master correct pronunciation of the alphabet.

German is probably one of the easiest languages when it comes to to pronunciation: almost all words are pronounced in full, i.e. there rarely are silent letters or "trick" in pronouncing.

The exception is some words that are borrowed from e.g. French like "Engagement", "Government", but they are a tiny minority.

Check out dict.cc for correct pronounciation of words by native speakers of German. An alternative is Forvo, but for German dict.cc is your best bet to improve pronounciation.

Lastly, the only way you'll learn a language is to speak it yourself. I understand that as a complete beginner it is hard, but you can still record yourself and compare the recording to that of native speakers on the website I mentioned above.